Home

Thinking with Ed

The question – Where are you from? –  seems innocent. I  have been asked this question many times. And I always answer by saying:  the name of the rural town. The next question I always get asked is: No where are you really from?  I am stubborn, so I persist with my answer and repeat the name of the rural town. Why? Because I grew up in a small rural town in far north Queensland, Australia in the 1960’s and 1970’s.  I was not born there, but I grew up there. It was the place where I went to primary and secondary school.  The small rural town was centred around a sugar mill. It had one main street. There was one bakery, one doctor, one general grocery shop, one chemist, one newspaper shop, two primary schools (one state, one catholic), and one secondary school. The town has changed a…

View original post 618 more words

Leave a Reply

